Egyptian Expectations.

As excited as I am to head to Africa in a little less than four weeks, it hasn’t exactly all come into focus. For as long as I can remember, I’ve wanted to head there, and now it’s actually happening. It’s almost unbelievable.

In my current mind, it’s all about being one with nature, seeing the animals, visiting Victoria Falls, climbing the sand dunes in Namibia, hiking Table Mountain, and cage diving with Great White Sharks. This is what I have been thinking about most when my mind wanders to my latest adventure. But, at the very end, what I keep forgetting, is that I will also be visiting Egypt.

Egypt has been on my list of places to visit since…forever. I actually can’t remember it not being on my list. I remember sitting in school playing with hieroglyphic stamps, visiting the Egyptian exhibit at the MET, creating a project on Cleopatra in 6th grade, and a few years ago, I had to stay at the Luxor in Las Vegas. Egypt is a place that has fascinated me for as long as I can remember, I’ve been just waiting for the right opportunity to come my way, and this year it did.

In Vegas, Sara with the Sphinx.

In Vegas, Sara with the Sphinx.

After deciding that Jeff would meet me in Cape Town when my tour was complete, we figured that we would only need a few days there. This meant that we could potentially head elsewhere for a few days. While Morocco and Dubai were originally contenders, Egypt eventually won us over, as it was somewhere we’d both always wanted to visit.

Egypt has been a country that has taken over the news here in America, and while many people would choose not to visit during this time, encouraged by that ever present travel advisory, we saw an opportunity to visit the country at a crucial time in its history. But, just to ensure our safety, we hired a private guide through Trip Advisor. This will also help us see everything we want to in the short three days we have.

Our current plan is to see Dahshour, Sakkara, Memphis, and the pyramids at Giza, along with the Sphinx on our first day in Cairo. Then we will take the sleeper train down to Luxor. When we wake up the next morning, we will see Valley of the Kings, Hatshepsut’s Temple, Clossai of Memnon, and the Karnak and Luxor temples. Then we will take the sleeper train back up to Cairo. The next day we’ll go to the The Museum of Egyptian Antiquities, Coptic Cairo, Sultan Hassan Mosque, Garbage City, and end the day with a Felucca ride.

While it looks to be a busy trip to Egypt, I know that in the end it will be all worth it to see a place I’ve been dreaming about since I was little. And, even though it keeps getting overshadowed by the busy and exciting three and a half weeks that lie before it, I know when I get there, and we are standing in front of the pyramids, it will all feel like a dream come true.

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
Southeast Asia Countdown: One Week
3 Things You MUST Do Before Going Abroad.
Tiger Kingdom in Chiang Mai
Let’s Get Out of This Country.

28 thoughts on “Egyptian Expectations.

  1. I want to go to Egypt so badly it hurts but people are telling me not to because of the war and demonstrations that are going on. And there’s a travel advisory but I think I’m still going to go… πŸ˜› And I’m going to all those places too! It’s nice to see I’m not the only one that appreciates Southern Africa. My family and friends don’t understand why I want to go there.

    • Nicole, I think you should go! πŸ™‚ The news always takes the worst stories and forgets the good things that happen. I’m going to be cautious, as I always am while traveling, but I’ve decided to let nothing stop me from seeing the world.

      No one understood why I wanted to visit Africa either, that’s why I’m going alone. I had no choice, no one would come with me. Luckily, I met my boyfriend, the only other person who would be willing to join me on this trip. So, after three weeks alone, he’ll come meet me. It’s nice that there are some people who are interested in visiting the continent. I feel like it has so much to offer!

  2. Um, I can’t help but wonder what awaits you in “Garbage City.” What a name for a place! Please tell us it’s not a big smelly dump!

  3. Egypt has always been high on my list. It’s a place that is so rich in culture and history. We’ll be keeping a close eye on that leg of the journey and, well, the rest of it too. Travel well. It sounds like one amazing trip!

  4. I’ve never been to Africa, but Egypt is high on my list. There’s so much history, and like you, I was obsessed as a little kid. I “Walked like an Egyptian” through the entire 80s. (Yeah, I’m kind of old.)

  5. Awesome trip! I love Egypt and especially when you get OFF the tourist path. There is a great hostal in the residential part of Luxor (I forget the name) – very clean, free full breakfast; the neighbors are so friendly to tourists. I wish you had more time to do the overnight train all the way to Aswan and ride a felucca up towards Luxor (and sleep on the deck!). Have a great trip and enjoy Egypt!

    • Thanks, Raul! I wish I had more time as well, the over night train to Aswan and felucca up to Luxor sounds just perfect! I figure this little trip will just give me more reason to go back! πŸ™‚

  6. As if the first part of the adventure was not awesome enough, you get to go to Egypt also. I am very excited for you. I am sure you will be safe there. The only danger is in Cairo when there are political rallies of some sort going on. Look forward to reading your posts.

    • I know, it has really turned into an amazing adventure. I think that I will be safe there too. From what I’ve read the rallies are usually only in small areas of the city, so as long as we stay away from those we’ll be fine. Plus, with our guide, we should really be in good hands.

  7. you’ll have an amazing time! the hubs & i spent 3 days at the beginning of our honeymoon in cairo, and the pyramids were everything you’d imagine and more. smart to hire a private guide–we only had one for the day we went to giza, and i wish we had kept her the entire time. you’ll feel extremely safe. can’t wait to follow along!

  8. Egypt is definitely on my bucket list. of course i envision it all Sex and the City like with an entourage of camels, clothes & hot Egyptian handlers to help me out! you will have a ball & i can’t wait to hear all your tales! πŸ™‚

  9. I feel like a bad traveler and a bad history geek, but Egypt is nowhere on my radar, and it never has been. I’m not really sure why. I’ll be following along on your Africa adventures; maybe your stories from Egypt will change my mind.

    • You’re not a bad traveler at all, Francesca, or a bad history geek! Some places are lower on my radar too, so everyone has different wants/needs. Not sure what to expect, especially with all that’s been going on over there, but maybe my stories/pictures will make you want to see it, or not at all! πŸ™‚

  10. I think Egypt is on ALMOST everyone’s travel list (except Francesca’s πŸ™‚ ) Really looking forward to hearing all about Africa, but especially interested in your Egypt posts.

    • Thanks!! It’s funny because originally I was planning on visiting Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, and Uganda, but decided to go South because of the travel advisory in Kenya. Fast forward to a few months later, and I had no qualms about booking Egypt, haha.

Leave a Reply

