Our Nation’s Capital: A Photo Essay.

Each year, the 8th graders at my school visit Washington DC, and for the past two years, I have been lucky enough to tag along as a chaperone. With each trip, I am reminded just how beautiful the capital city of my country is. As much as I often push it away, in search of bigger and better things, I have to sometimes step back and realize just how lucky I am to have grown up in The United States. All four of my grandparents took extreme measures and sacrifices to come here in their teens, and often I take it for granted.

Travel has opened my eyes to the beauty of the world, and sometimes I forget that the world includes where I come from as well. But, this week I was reminded just how lucky I am to call America home. My nation’s capital is one of the most well-kept and maintained cities I have ever visited and it can be hard to put down the camera to appreciate what you are seeing.

Below are some of the pictures I took during my short stay, but I plan on visiting the city again, without kids, very soon.

Capitol Building.

Capitol Building.

 Rotunda Ceiling.

Rotunda Ceiling.

Flag inside the Capitol Building.

Flag inside the Capitol Building.

Supreme Court.

Supreme Court.

Lincoln Memorial.

Lincoln Memorial.

Inside the Lincoln Memorial.

Inside the Lincoln Memorial.

World War II Memorial.

World War II Memorial.

Washington Monument from WWII Memorial.

Washington Monument from WWII Memorial.

Martin Luther King Jr Memorial.

Martin Luther King Jr Memorial.

Jefferson Memorial.

Jefferson Memorial.

Arlington National Cemetery

Arlington National Cemetery

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
My Seven Super Shots.
North Island Adventures.
South East Asia.
The National’s Capital (with Kids)
Pictures from Our Thana Tours Jeep Adventure.

24 thoughts on “Our Nation’s Capital: A Photo Essay.

  1. You’re right, we are so lucky to call the USA home, and to have such a fantastic capital city. I made my first and only trip to DC just a few years ago; it remains one of the travel highlights of my life. Thanks for taking me back to DC with your photos.

    • I always seem to forget how wonderful it is until I get there. I first visited with my family in the 5th grade and only went back the last two years because of work. I keep meaning to go back on my own and am hoping to finally get there in the fall.

  2. I love the USA and Washington is a place I have always wanted to go. Thank you for sharing these great photos, a treat!!

  3. I was just there too! And I agree it is one of the most well-kept cities I’ve ever been to. I hate to say it, but your American captiol puts my Canadian capitol to shame. Not that Ottawa isn’t beautiful, but we’re definitely lacking in the monument and marble building department.

  4. Erin – your photos area beautiful, especially the one of the Rotunda ceiling! Also, this struck a chord with me, “… sometimes I forget that the world includes where I come from as well.” How very true for some of us at times… Exploring the world is wonderful, but so is adding what’s nearby to the bucket list. Great post!

  5. Lovely shots. I am embarrassed to say I have never been. Glad I can view these awesome pictures and see what I have been missing.

  6. Love the crisp, colorful photos! I also love DC! I’ll be there for a couple of days in September, and will try to do a bit of sightseeing.

    • Thanks, UK! I took them all on my iPhone, which is pretty amazing. Oh, September will be beautiful I am sure. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to see the Newseum when I was there – we stick to a pretty strict schedule with the kids, but I hope to go back sometime in the next year. πŸ™‚

      • I like living there, but this country isn’t interesting at all πŸ˜€ I would like to live in the USA πŸ™‚ In a country which is not so well-known… What about Idaho? πŸ™‚ I know some people from there and they’re great… πŸ™‚

      • Ohh, Idaho! I’ve never been! πŸ™‚ I guess the grass is always greener on the other side, there’s a lot of times I wish I didn’t live here and was somewhere more exotic! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

