Going Golfing.

Over the past few months, I have been trying to fill the long weeks before travel with activities that make my life feel as exciting as it is while I’m traveling. Whether it’s trying new food, learning something new, or facing old fears, these activities spice up my normal routines and help make life at home a little more tolerable. In fact, this has all been a part of my resolution for 2012, to live my everyday life more like how I live my life when I’m traveling.

While I’m enjoying each and every moment this year has had to offer, what I’ve found so far is that the hardest of these tasks for me to attempt are those that involve physical activities. It’s not to say that I’m out of shape, I’m not, but I haven’t played sports in years. In elementary and middle school, I was constantly playing basketball, tennis, soccer, and cheerleading. Then I was a cheerleader and dancer for the beginning of high school, until I decided that I liked my social life a heck of a lot more than sports, which ended my short-lived “career” as an athlete.

Cheerleading in middle school.

Cheerleading in middle school.

But, in 2012, my athletic life has made a comeback with ice skating, basketball, the start of my scuba certification, and plans to go hiking and camping. Slowly, I am beginning to realize that life at home can be just as exciting and adventurous as life on the road.

So the other day, in keeping with the theme of learning something new, Jeff suggested a trip to the driving range. As thrilled as I was to begin learning, I was apprehensive about the sport I dubbed boring for years. To me, golf was for people who had way too much time on their hands, and I couldn’t see how any fun could be had while playing it; which is why, I vowed never to play the sport.

But, I thought back to the promise I made myself back in January – to take any and every opportunity to grow – so I decided to give golf a try. Since Jeff and I are very similar and golf is something he enjoys, I thought maybe I would too.

Overlooking Manhattan.

Overlooking Manhattan.

Still my feelings were mixed when we arrived at the range. I was overwhelmed at the idea of trying something new and worried that I would be terrible at the sport, especially since I am absolutely awful at miniature goal, but Jeff assured me that I would be okay. As we walked down to the very end, far away from everyone else, I started to get excited about learning something new.

Posing.

Posing.

Jeff was an excellent teacher and he helped me with my swing and grip on the club. At first, I had a hard time actually hitting the ball, then getting it off the ground, but within a few tries, I was actually picking it up. This is when it began to get fun, and I kept trying over and over again, each time liking it more and more.

All business now.

All business now.

Got the ball off the ground.

Taking a swing.

Where'd the ball go?

Got the ball off the ground.

Jeff's turn!

Jeff’s turn!

We spent about an hour at the range, but I already can’t wait to go back and to try golfing out on a course. Who knew that something I originally had negative thoughts about could be so much fun? But, I guess that’s what this is all about, and shows exactly how it relates to traveling.

People always have preconceived notions about a place, culture, and people, which is why many don’t travel. But, while I am away I love proving myself and other people wrong about the places I visit. In one of my favorite quotes, Aldous Huxley states, “To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries.” Maybe, by participating in all of these activities at home, I am beginning to realize that I’ve been wrong about home all along, and this journey in treating my home life as a trip is what is really going to make all the difference in my life.

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
My Next Adventure: Scuba Certification.
Rediscovering Past Loves.
Discovering Adventures at Home.
Facing My Fears on Ice.

4 thoughts on “Going Golfing.

Leave a Reply

