Africa, Here I Come!

Africa. A continent I have dreamed of visiting for as long as I can remember. A continent full of life and of culture. A continent full of hardships and triumphs. A continent full of love, of hope, and of strength. A continent like no other on earth.

Africa has intrigued me for the majority of my life, and I have often pictured myself visiting the countries within the continent. But, for years, I pushed that dream aside. I was focused on my studies, getting a good education, and later, becoming successful in my career. Then, after reaching those goals, I decided I was ready to settle down and start a family, willing to put my dreams of travel off to the future.

Though the person I was ready to marry had entirely different ideas and thoughts set out for the future. So, after realizing that our differences for the future were too many to try make it work, we ended our time together, and I resolved, almost immediately, to finally visit Africa. That was almost three years, and I still have yet to go.

However, after finally visiting Thailand this summer, a country on my list of top three, next to India and “any country on the continent of Africa,” I’ve decided that enough is enough. In 2012, I must, finally, head to Africa.

Which is why, as of 6pm tonight, I’ve officially turned that dream into a reality. I finally started to book my African adventure for July and August to Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, and South Africa. I am looking forward to the next few months of continued planning and preparing for this journey that’s been a long time coming. Africa, I am on my way!

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
Wandering the World.
Travel Makes Life a Daring Adventure.
Bangkok: First Impressions
Southeast Asia Countdown: One Week

16 thoughts on “Africa, Here I Come!

  1. That’s wonderful!

    And I also had a guy I was ready to marry and then we both realized that my need for adventure didn’t mesh will with his need for a suburban life. I haven’t looked back. Nor should you. )

  2. oh wow. african countries are in my dream list too. i’ve always dreamed of climbing mt kilimanjaro.

    i am looking forward to read about your african adventure. πŸ™‚

  3. Enjoy your trip and soak up every minute of it! I did a similar trip a while ago and it was the most memorable trip of my life. Don’t forget to bring a camera with a zoom lens! That was the one thing I wish I had invested in before taking off.

      • yes, a lot!

        keep an open mind and an open heart (you’ll see extreme poverty coupled with the happiest kids ever, you’ll find potholes and bumpy rides, accommodations are barebones, internet is sparse).

        Don’t be afraid of the animals – they are more scared of you than you are of them. Just don’t make any sudden movements to make them feel threatened and you’ll be fine (I almost thought I was going to die when an elephant raided my tent in Botswana, but I stayed calm and all is well).

        Layer your clothes and bring a scarf — not just for cold nights, but you can wear it as a headscarf if it gets really hot as well as a way to cover your nose/mouth if it gets dusty (it got dusty on the road as well as when I was on the red sand dunes in Namibia).

        I had to wash my own clothes and a clothesline I brought was really helpful – you may want to do the same.

        Bring some antibacterial hand gel/wash. It is useful if you will be on the road a lot and having meals on the road.

        Don’t use the ATMs! I brought all my cash and only exchanged whatever I thought I’d need for that country.

        When in Zimbabwe, do the lion walk. Best. Experience. EVER!!

        The kids love it when you take pictures of them and then show them the pictures. πŸ™‚

        Bring spare camera batteries and adapters/converters.

        Whew – I should just do a post about this… I didn’t realize I had so many. Anyway, hope it helps! You will have an unforgettable experience. πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, thanks so much, Diana! You should definitely write up a post about it. All great advice and I will definitely follow it! The elephant experience sounds a bit nuts, even if I am an elephant lover, haha. What a close encounter!

    Did you travel with a tour group? If so, who did you go with?

    Thanks again so much for all of your help – seriously, much appreciated! πŸ™‚

    • I went with a tour group based out of Africa but it was a few years ago so i can’t remember the name (nomad something, I think). It is probably better that I don’t remember them because they messed up some parts of my reservation so I don’t think I would recommend them. 😦 it was still a very memorable trip and I would love to go back one day. I still want to see Kenya and Tanzania since I only covered South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, and Zimbabwe! My experience in Africa made me fall in love with animals! πŸ™‚

      • Oh gosh, I hope my tour company has it all together! πŸ™‚ So I will be headed to the same countries that you went to! I really can’t wait, I know it will be truly memorable.

        I also need to see Tanzania and Kenya, as well as Northern Africa – Morocco and Egypt specifically. Then I’d like to make it to Rwanda, Senegal, and Ghana too. I pretty much want to see it all! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

