Winter Blues.

I have a love-hate relationship with the winter. While I love the way the world looks covered in snow, I absolutely hate being cold. I’d rather feel the warmth from the summer sun on my back and the breeze off the ocean in my hair.

Happy in Fiji!

And, this is why, if I travel during the winter months, I try to make it to somewhere warm. But, even then winter travel is just more difficult than travel during warmer months: delays and cancelations, planes needing to be de-iced, dealing with bulky winter clothes. To me, it just doesn’t seem worth it, and conveniently enough, the winter is not when I have the time off from work.

But, if I were to travel during the next few months of ice and cold, rather than hibernating as I usually do, my ideal travel location would be an island far, far away from the island of Manhattan. Since this is a dream, I’ll dream big, and say that my winter months would be best spent sunbathing in The Seychelles Islands or in Zanzibar. A cool drink in my hand, a floppy wide-brim hat on my head, and no worries at all. I could spend time snorkeling, exploring the island, or just bask in the heat of the sun.

But, alas, there are no winter travel plans for me. However, I have been occupying my time planning adventures for my spring and summer breaks to warm locales, of course. I’m currently looking at flights for a week-long escape to California to visit family and friends in April, while also crossing off an item or two on my bucket list. Then, after that, I will spend about four weeks this summer in Africa.

Those plans are the motivation I need to get me through these next few months. That, and the fact, that it will all soon be over, and I can finally defrost. For now though, I will dream away the winter blues with thoughts of California and Africa.

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
Lessons of Travel.
Bula, from Fiji!
Lost in Bangkok and The Sky Bar.
Packing Nightmares.


This post is part of BootsnAll’s Indie Travel Challenge 2012.
Week four’s topic: When the weather gets cold, do you prefer to head to sunnier locales or do you love the outdoor adventures or off-season prices of winter? Warm or cold, what’s your dream winter travel destination, and do you have any travel plans for the coming months?

4 thoughts on “Winter Blues.

  1. Funny…you want to go far away from Manhattan during winter, while I would spend the whole season there if given the option:) Good luck planning the trip to Cali…look forward to reading about that bucket list scratch…

Leave a Reply

