“Vietnam can hold you like a smell does.”

The other night I was watching television and No Reservations came on. To my pleasant surprise, Bourdain was in Vietnam! I know that I was just there this past summer, but like Graham Greene says,”Vietnam can hold you like a smell does.” To me, this statement couldn’t be more true.

Saigon.


I think about Vietnam every single day and try to plan when I will make my way back there. Ever since visiting, my life has been changed. It’s hard for me to put into words what I experienced there and feel that in many ways, one must visit to fully understand.

It’s like Bourdain says, “From the very first minute that I came to this country, I knew my life had changed. My old life was suddenly never going to be good enough.” I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Here are the first fifteen minutes of his episode in Vietnam. Maybe it will help you understand why I long to be back there.

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
Missing Vietnam.
Leaving Vietnam.
Falling in Love.

2 thoughts on ““Vietnam can hold you like a smell does.”

Leave a Reply

