2012: The Year of Endless Possibilities.

Good-bye, 2011! Hello, 2012!

2012 is officially here, and it’s time to plan the adventures that lie ahead. I have a lot of goals in mind for the coming year, and I couldn’t be more excited to get started reaching them. One of those goals will be to write on a more consistent basis, which is why I was ecstatic when yesterday, BootsnAll announced their Indie Travel Challenge 2012. In this project, BootsnAll will post a new prompt each week, which will allow for travelers to reflect and share their travel experiences.

For the first week of January, the prompt is all about resolutions. Not those about traveling more or signing up for the gym, but instead to, “Resolve to seek out experiences that immerse you into a new culture, challenge your beliefs, push your comfort zone, delight your senses, and make memories that will last a lifetime.”

Over the past three years, these have been the resolutions for my life, though I’ve never thought of them as resolutions. I have pushed myself to face my fears and challenged myself to reach my greatest potential. With each year, I become stronger, smarter, braver, and, most importantly, happier. Travel has changed my life for the better, which is why I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

For me, 2012 is a year where I have endless opportunities at my fingertips. The world is my oyster and anything is possible for me in the next twelve months. Starting with my first resolution, which is to travel solo for the very first time. Traveling on my own isn’t something I’ve always wanted to do, but after meeting many solo travelers during my journeys, I have been inspired by their stories. Even though I’m not entirely sure what to expect and realize there will be challenges along the way, that is part of what I am most looking forward to.

Second on my list is to finally visit Africa. This has been a dream for me for as long as I can remember, and it’s about time for that dream to become a reality. The plan, as of now, is to travel to Senegal, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, and South Africa. And, while there, I’d like to swim with great white sharks and penguins, visit Victoria Falls, climb Table Mountain, stand at the tip of Africa at Cape Hope, drink wine in South Africa, see the sand dunes of Namibia, and visit game reserves to watch animals going about their routines.

Finally, I plan to take more chances, be more adventurous, and make more friends no matter where I end up over the course of the year. I will take last minute opportunities and chances to try new things, whether I’m at home or abroad. I will learn and grow by all that surrounds me, and I will continue to be grateful for all I’ve seen and what lies in my future. I know that a lot of good awaits me this year, and I plan on going out there and getting it all. The possibilities are endless.

If you liked this post, you may also enjoy:
Changes in 2011. Resolutions for 2012.
Dreaming of Thailand.
Travel Makes Life a Daring Adventure.
Twenty-Seven.

6 thoughts on “2012: The Year of Endless Possibilities.

  1. I really hope you get to accomplish your resolution of traveling solo this year! The feeling of freedom you experience is undescribeable to say the least : )

    • I really hope that I do too! There are 12 months to work with so I’m sure I’ll be able to squeeze it in somewhere, even if it’s not the way I originally planned. I’ve heard nothing but positive feedback about it, any advice you could give me?

  2. I think it’s great you’re planning to travel solo — it was one of the best things I ever did. I met some great people, saw places special to me, and realized it’s kind of cool being able to stop and write in my journal when I want or wander a place longer than my travel companion might be up for. Going solo was a great lesson in self and independence, and made me feel pretty powerful — tackling mishaps and taking on little bits of the world just for myself.

    Good luck and have fun with it!

    • Thank you so much, Brooke! I’m fully looking forward to it, and the more I think about traveling on my own, the more comfortable I am with the idea. I’ve done transit alone and really love it, but since this is my first time alone for the entire trip there are things I’m nervous about, especially as a woman. Any advice or tips you can give me, either on here or through my contact page? Thanks, that would be amazing! 🙂

  3. Good stuff. I’m kind of opposite, where I’ve traveled solo for so long, I’m just now starting to travel more with others and I’m starting to like it a lot more and find a balance in how I travel.

    • It’s all a matter of balance. I’m not sure how I’ll like solo travel, but I think I’ll regret it if I don’t try it. It’s funny because I’m always in transit alone, but, last April I took a trip with my friend and it was so nice to have company on board.

Leave a Reply

