Drink. Drank. Drunk.

Day 20: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s prompt: DrinkJust as the cuisine of a place reveals clues about its culture and history, so does its signature local drink. What’s the best drink you had on the road, and did the drink have any connection to the place where you drank it or the people you drank with?

Miami.

Beer: it’s my drink of choice on the road. Actually, it’s often what I look forward to. One of my favorite aspects of traveling would have to be sampling local beer. Plus, you can have a cocktail anywhere around the world, but most of the beers I’ve had on my excursions aren’t available in the States. This makes them even more appealing.

In New Zealand, when I’m not drinking Sauvignon Blanc, give me a Tui. In Croatia, nothing goes better with pršut and cheese like Karlovačko. In Belgium, there are often too many beers to choose from in a variety of styles – Kriek and Lambic being my top choices.

Vietnam.

I have sampled many different beers all over the world, and often visiting a bar or pub becomes an adventure. I talk to the bartender and ask him or her to give me suggestions on what I’d like best. It becomes a fun game and often I learn more about the country through the bartender and the beer. Here are some others I’ve sampled along the way:

Fiji Gold in Fiji
Presidente in the Dominican Republic
Corona, Sol, and Dos Equis in Mexico
Saigon, BGI, Biere Larue, Tiger in Vietnam
Beer Chang, Leo, and Singha in Thailand
Hofbräu Original at Hofbräuhaus in Munich
San Miguel and Mahou in Spain
Peroni Nastro Azzurro and Birra Moretti in Italy
Harp in Ireland

Germany.

Along my adventures, I have had other brands in each country, and in countries that I didn’t list above. But, because I often ask the bartender to give me their best beer, I don’t always remember to write down the name. Even so, of any drink I’ve had on the road, the beer in any country I visit has special meaning to me.

My favorite part of sampling local beers, though, would have to be sharing them with the many people from all over the world that I meet while traveling. I have enjoyed conversations that I wouldn’t have had at any other time in my life. I always wind up conversing in bars and on beaches with local people, along with other travelers, over the country’s beer, and those are the conversations that change my world.

One thought on “Drink. Drank. Drunk.

  1. Pingback: The Best of BootsnAll’s 30 Days of Indie Travel | BootsnAll Travel Articles

Leave a Reply

