Traveling Lightly.

Day 16: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s prompt: BaggageMental baggage can weigh us down as much as physical baggage when we travel. How do you travel lightly – either emotionally or physically?

Before I understood the meaning of packing light.



It took some time for me to learn how to travel lightly. It wasn’t until I was off traveling on my own, that I began to realize that I didn’t need to bring along my entire closet. What did I need to take with me, when I would have the entire world right in front of me to take in?

The same goes for my emotions. I often state that I am the best version of myself while I am exploring new countries. I have no responsibilities or routines while I am away. Nothing to worry about except keeping track of my money and passport. No decisions to make aside from where to sleep that night or what meal to eat. Nothing to fear except facing my fears.

There are no alarm clocks to wake me up, no papers to grade, no parents to e-mail, no lessons to plan, no cleaning to do, no errands to run, no meetings or conferences, no workouts at a gym. Just life to enjoy to the fullest extent possible.

When I am able to travel, the last thing I want to bring along is more baggage. I want to be spontaneous. I want to let circumstance make my decisions. I want to be free from responsibility. Make friends. Immerse myself in cultures unknown.

And, no matter what the emotional cost and stress before the trip, as soon as I pass security and enter my gate, the anxiety has passed. There, I know that I am exactly where I need to be.

Leave a Reply

