Wandering the World.

Day 14: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s prompt: QuoteWhat’s your favorite quote about travel? Why does it stand out to you?

Wandering on Fiji.

Choosing one favorite quote about traveling is a difficult task, as I find so many of them relate to my views on travel. But, I have decided this would probably be the best time to explain the quote that is the basis behind the name of this blog.

“Not all those who wander are lost.” John Ronald Reuel Tolkien

This particular quote comes from J.R.R. Tolkien’s poem All That is Gold Does Not Glitter, which was featured in his Lord of the Rings book series, though I have to admit that I’ve never read the books, or seen the films. I have, however, been on the tour in New Zealand, which I highly recommend.

All That is Gold Does Not Glitter

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.

To me, this poem is about things not always being what they seem, and how in the great circle of life there are little surprises that we experience daily. For me, the piece that stands out the most is the line that I chose as my quote.

While the quote isn’t explicitly about travel, it does connect in many ways. Often, travelers are viewed as being lost. If you have a desire to quit your job to complete a RTW trip or take a gap year between college and finding a job, people accuse you of being irresponsible. “Why would anyone do such a thing in this economy?” But, why wouldn’t you? I don’t think traveling makes you lost, in fact, I believe it makes you more in tune with life and the ways of the world.

At 26, many of my friends are married and settled down. They own houses and are starting to have babies. Instead, I am wandering the world. Occasionally, family members will ask when I plan on settling down, but right now, I’m more concerned with adventure – about meeting people and seeing places. I spend most of my money on traveling. Foolish, maybe. Lost, definitely not.

Should I invest in a house, instead? Or, work on finding the perfect husband to start a family with? Or, save every single penny I own for a rainy day? No, life is short, so why should I wait to see the world?

I am not wandering just to wander; I want to explore. I want to meet every person I encounter, swim in every ocean and sea, taste every food, see every city, experience every culture, climb every mountain, and live each and every day on earth with a purpose.

To me, travel is so much more than wandering. Yes, I may be wandering the world, but at the same time, I’m seeking, exploring, and enjoying the short time I’m allotted here on this planet that has so much to offer.

2 thoughts on “Wandering the World.

  1. Great post! And I love your line at the end:

    “I want to meet every person I encounter, swim in every ocean and sea, taste every food, see every city, experience every culture, climb every mountain, and live each and every day on earth with a purpose.”

    For those with an insatiable wanderlust, this is the experience we crave.

  2. Loved reading this!
    But I cannot help but think…did I start all this?
    When you and your brother were young, we never got lost …we would find ourselves on an adventure and eventually we would find our way!
    So, no you are definately not lost – you have found your way!

Leave a Reply

