Home is Wherever I’m with You.

Day 13: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s prompt: HomeFor some people, no matter how much they love traveling, there’s always no place like home. Other travelers make their homes wherever they happen to be. Tell us about your home – where is it and why do you consider it your home?

I’m always conflicted when I come home. I have usually fallen in love with a new country, group of people, culture, and way of life. Yes, I am happy to see friends and family, to have other options of clothes to wear, to eat the foods I’ve missed, but give me a week back at home, and I’m ready to be back on the road again.

In the song, Home, by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, they sing, “Home is wherever I’m with you.” And, that’s how I like to think about home.

My house is only my home when it’s full of the people that I love. Which means that home can be wherever I am when I’m with the people I care about the most. I like thinking of home in this way, because then I have had a home in some of the most beautiful places in the world. And to me, that is just perfect.

7 thoughts on “Home is Wherever I’m with You.

  1. As soon as I started reading your post I was reminded of a song my husband and I hold dear – Billy Joel’s “You’re My Home”. In it, I like the lyric, “Wherever we’re together, that’s my home,” Completely different music, similar sentiment. You inspired me – maybe I’ll write about the story of “Our Song”. I checked out the video for “Home”, and I was surprised, but I liked it!

  2. Pingback: Home Is Where Your Heart Is « Simple Pleasures

Leave a Reply

