A Love Story Set in Vietnam.

Day 12: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s Topic: MEANINGFUL CONNECTIONSTravelers meet dozens, if not hundreds, of new people on every trip. They may become friends, enemies, lovers, and resources; they may stay in your life forever or be forgotten the next day. Tell about a time you felt a powerful connection – for however long – to another person while traveling.

Nha Trang.


This is a topic that I can closely connect with, and one I recently wrote about, Those We Meet Along the Way. My favorite part of traveling is meeting people from all around the world. Sometimes we remain friends only for a night, and others I have stayed in touch with throughout the years. But, my most recent connection was one that was truly special.

It all began this past July in Mui Ne, Vietnam, while I was sitting in Jibe’s Beach Club overlooking the South China Sea and drinking a Saigon beer. The bar was quiet due to off-season, but there were a good amount of backpackers around. A table of three guys caught my eye early on in the night, but the girls and I kept to ourselves trying to plan out the rest of our trip and decide when we would head further north.

About an hour later, one of the guys, Cameron, came over to ask if their group of guys could join us, and that’s how it all began. We made friends with Cameron from Canada, Karl from Wales, and Sam from England immediately and their presence among us was a welcome one. We all shared stories about where we had been and where we were going.

Sam and I hit it off right away. At first, yelling over the table to talk to each other, and finally I moved my chair to his side of the table. Conversation just flowed, and I could tell immediately there was something special between us.

We parted ways that night, but exchanged numbers, as we were headed along the same path up Vietnam. We had planned to meet up the next day to visit the sand dunes together, but after one too many Saigon beers, the next morning was not an easy one. Instead, I found a spot under the umbrella by the pool and remained there for the day.

That night the girls and I only headed out for dinner, as we had a 6 hour bus ride to Nha Trang early the following morning. So, we left Mui Ne, and I left my hope of seeing Sam again. Though, I had a feeling our story wasn’t over.

Nha Trang quickly became our favorite destination in Vietnam – filled with travelers and plenty of nightlife. We made many new friends from all over the world but, on our third night at the Sailing Club, our new favorite hang out, we ran into Cameron and Karl. Sam wound up being there too, so we were able to reconnect. We spent the rest of the night sitting and talking or on the beach dancing. Then he walked me to my hotel, and we sat outside, continuing our conversation until we were completely exhausted. We exchanged numbers, e-mail addresses, and made sure that the following day we’d get in touch. That next day would be my last in Nha Trang before heading back on a 12-hour bus ride to Saigon and then on to Bangkok for my flight home.

After some difficulty reconnecting yet again, we managed to meet for drinks one last time. And, even though we were with our friends, we were in our own little world. We found quiet corners in the bars to sit and continue our previous conversations.

We talked about the countries we’ve visited, where we want to go, what life was like back home – his family is from England, but he was born and raised in Uganda. We then sat outside my hotel again talking for hours and he taught me Swahili, while I taught him the little Italian I knew. And, as much as I tried not have the night end, I had a bus to catch about an hour after we finally parted ways. We vowed to keep in touch, but my heart sunk into my stomach, not knowing what would happen from there.

I’ve met many along my travels, and in my daily life, but no one that I quite had the same connection with. And, now it’s almost four months later, and I still think of him every day. We’ve kept in touch, but it isn’t always easy and it isn’t the same.

It’s hard to know what the future will bring, but I have a feeling that I will be reunited with Sam once again at some point in my life. If not, I’ll always remember what we had those few days together in Vietnam.

5 thoughts on “A Love Story Set in Vietnam.

  1. Pingback: The Best of BootsnAll’s 30 Days of Indie Travel | BootsnAll Travel Articles

  2. It’s the hardest thing when travelling, meeting so many people who have the same passion and thirst for adventure as we do, then having to say goodbye at some point. Sometimes a bit of flexibility and juggling allow us to extend the relationship a little, but ultimately we know it is going to end one day.

    But, as one door closes, another opens, and I don’t get too upset at goodbyes anymore (after 8 months of travel), each new destination brings new friendships and possibly more.

    A friend of mine just finished a 6 month trip in South America, and this was her latest Facebook update… it’s quite beautiful:

    “The road is home to that endless flow of travellers; the seekers, explorers, the vacationers, the revelers and the nomads. The bright array of characters whose stories intersect yours for a moment, a minute, a laugh, a dance, a drink, a journey. Then too often, too soon your paths pull you apart, eventually returning to your little nook of the world. In the future you reappear in each others lives, perhaps not in person but in the tales you share.

    As six months of travel comes to an end I am left with a bank account that has been emptied and heart and head that has been filled.”

    • Yea, I hate good-byes, they are so hard, but I guess you always have them throughout a journey and in life.
      Thank you so much for sharing your friend’s update, it says it all. I love the idea of the people reappearing in the stories shared afterwards, it’s incredibly true. Travel is all about experiences and people, it’s truly life changing.

      Hope you’re making lots of friends over there in Thailand! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your comment! It’s such a hard balance. My favorite part of traveling is meeting new people, but since it is travel, there’s always the part where you have to move on, leaving the ones you met behind. C’est la vie!

Leave a Reply

