Feasting in Stivan, Croatia.

Day 11: BootsnAll Indie Travel Project

Today’s Topic: FeastFor some of us, food isn’t just a part of our travels, it’s the reason why we travel. Whether you travel the globe to try new foods and use food to form a deeper connection with the culture or just eat to live, food plays a big part in the travel experience. Share a food-related story from your travels or describe your best meal.

I have had some amazing meals while traveling the globe. In Brussels, it was moules and frites by an open fire in chilly December, along with beer, chocolate, and waffles. In Italy, it was a pizza place in Trastevere that served beer in personal kegs, followed by a dessert of gelato. In Ireland, it’s milk and butter with anything or curry cheese chips. Scotland: the meat pies and mulled wine. France: the Nutella crepes sold on the streets. Fiji: anything with curry served in a roti. Maine: lobster. Germany: the beer, pretzels, and spaetzle noodles. Spain: chocolate con churros. I could go on forever.

However, the best meal I’ve had while traveling, didn’t have as much to do with the food, as it did with where I was and who I was with.

In July 2006, my family decided to go on a three-week adventure through Europe, hitting Ireland, Germany, Austria, Slovenia, Croatia, and Italy. While I had plenty of amazing meals on that trip, the best by far was in Croatia. We were staying in the small town of Stivan, on the island of Cres. It was where my grandfather was born. Our first meal in the house was one I’ll never forget.

The house my grandfather was born in.

My grandfather’s nephew, Lucio, was now in charge of taking care of the house, and he was taking care of us during our stay. We sat down at the table in the tiny kitchen, and feasted on Kobasica, fresh bread, fuži with lamb sauce, pršut, all while chasing it all down with Karlovacko. And, while we ate, Lucio told stories of what it was like to grow up in Croatia, and told us history that my grandfather always kept hidden.

This meal, full of Croatian food, a cuisine entirely new to me, in the kitchen where my grandfather grew up so many years before, was unforgettable. While the food was something I’ll always remember, the experience and the meaning it has is one that I’ll truly never forget.

Kobasica

Leave a Reply

