Inspiration.

As a teacher, I am often inspired on a daily basis by everyday occurrences. I find inspiration all around me and bring it into my classroom any way that I can. My goal is then to inspire my students: to help them grow, learn, and understand the worlds of reading and writing. However, my favorite experience as a teacher is when I am the one who has been inspired by one of my students. And, that’s exactly what happened this week.

All of my seventh graders have their own blogs. This is a project that I piloted last year, although it is something I have been working on for a few years, more specifically while I was completing my Master’s. It’s an exciting project for them, and one they take on with complete seriousness. Their blogs are quite advanced, complete with polls, links, videos, and pictures. Overall, it’s very impressive that they have been able to figure out all of this with little or no direction from me.

While I thoroughly enjoy reading all of their blogs, there is one young lady who writes about travel, a topic that also happens to be my favorite. So far she’s written two posts about a trip to Italy that she took a few years back, and her posts about the trip are absolutely incredible. Last week her focus was gelato, while this week was about the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, and Piazza Navona. Both of her post had the ability to bring me right back to Rome.

This particular student is one that struggles with school work. But, with this blog it doesn’t show at all. She is able to take her early passion for travel and turn it into a masterpiece.

And this week, she is my inspiration to keep on writing. Because if she can keep up her own travel blog at twelve years old and with very limited travel experience, there’s no reason why updating mine should be so difficult.

Here are two quotes that she used in her posts. Thought I’d share them with you:

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.”
-Susan Sontag

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing”
-Helen Keller

2 thoughts on “Inspiration.

  1. Sounds like a smart kid.
    Albert Eistein was a terrible student.
    Guess he found his inspiration later in life.
    Never, never, never give up – Winston Churchill.
    Hope she grows up to appreciate the wonders of the world.
    Cheers,
    John D. Wilson

Leave a Reply

