The Best Pizza in Vietnam

I’ll admit it, when it comes to food, I can be quite particular.  Growing up just outside New York City with an Italian grandmother and a mother whose greatest passion is cooking, it’s no wonder.

While traveling, I’ve learned it’s best to stick to the food the country is known for.  I think it’s the best way to immerse myself in the culture, and get a feel for the country. Plus, it’s usually a sure fire way to know you’ll get a really good meal.

That’s why I was a bit reluctant to try the Italian restaurant in Nha Trang, Good Morning Vietnam.  But, putting judgement aside, and listening to recommendations, we headed over to test it out.

Pizza at Good Morning Vietnam

After we were seated upstairs in the open-air space overlooking the street below, I decided on pasta.  My logic being that plenty of noodles are cooked in Vietnam, but my intuition was wrong. The pasta was overcooked and more mushy than al dente, like I was accustomed to.  However, Michelle had decided on the pizza. Now this was something I immediately said no to because I had seen the pizza produced during our journey. I know how easily this simple dish can be ruined, which is why I refuse to order pizza anywhere abroad except for Italy and Croatia. 

But, upon the arrival of her individual Roma pie, with mozzarella cheese and bacon, I knew I had made a mistake.  The pie looked like something I get at home, or dare I say, something you could get in Italy or Croatia. Think crust, slightly charred on the bottom, perfectly cooked and bubbled cheese. And the perfect amount of bacon sprinkled on top the perfect amount of sauce. She offered us a taste, and it was love at first bite.  It was the most delicious Western food I had had anywhere in Asia.

For the next day and a half, I actually craved this pizza again, so we went today for lunch and ordered a large Roma pie to split. We devoured the pie without speaking.

At five dollars each for water and large pizza, it was money well spent.  It’s by far the best pizza in Vietnam, and some of the best pizza I’ve had in a while.

Leave a Reply

