The Travel Doctor Experience

Right now I’m sitting in the doctor’s office waiting for my travel appointment.  Funny how something I would normally dread has become fun. I love talking to the nurses about where I’ll be headed in July and getting information about a country (better yet, countries) from my doctor.  It’s just further confirmation that I actually am headed to Southeast Asia.

Years ago I would have never thought of visiting a travel doctor before going away. I’m also not a very good planner. But after two years of this, it is something that I find I fully enjoy.

First off, I’m a hypochondriac. I can’t help it.  After Fiji, I was convinced I had Dengue Fever. I even had a nightmare last Saturday night (after one too many mojitos), that I got a bug bite in Vietnam, but forgot to take my malaria pills. To say I woke up in a puddle of sweat is no exaggeration.   Once I realized that I was actually not in Vietnam; I was happy I had my appointment booked.

Plus, there’s nothing more satisfying then traveling with a bottle of antibiotics.  This way you know you can beat anything you come across, even the cockroaches crawling around the dish you were just about to dive into or the flies being whisked away by the servers.  Yes, Fiji was a place I heavily relied on my bottle of Cipro.

Either way as far as I’m concerned, it’s better to be safe than sorry. Which is exactly why all be taking all necessary precautions.

Well, I just met with my doctor, who was extremely helpful, and I’m all set. Since last year for Fiji, I got the Hepatitis A and Typhoid vaccines, this year was fairly easy. Though it was not mandatory, I opted to get the Japanese encephalitis vaccine – better safe then sorry! I also left armed with prescriptions for malaria tablets and Zithromax Z-pack, and my travel health companion/country information sheets.  Now I’m officially ready to go!

One thought on “The Travel Doctor Experience

  1. Pingback: 3 Things You MUST Do Before Going Abroad « The World Wanderer

Leave a Reply

